SMAT 2021-22: Hyderabad tops group, pips Delhi in last-ball thriller

Share your love


Hyderabad overcame a middle-order stoop to beat Delhi by three wickets in a nail-biting conflict in Sultanpur.

Becoming a member of arms when Hyderabad was struggling at 138 for 7, Tanay Thyagarajan (17 n.o., 10b, 2×6) and Chama Milind (14 n.o., 8b, 1×4, 1×6) added 33 runs in 17 deliveries to take their staff dwelling within the closing ball of the competition Hyderabad gave the impression to be heading in the direction of a defeat when it misplaced six wickets for 53 runs, after Tanmay Agarwal (54, 34b, 6×4, 2×6) and Tilak Varma (37, 32b, 2×4, 2×6) supplied a strong basis to its chase.

T20 World Cup 2021: Vince replaces injured Roy in England squad

Quick bowler Pradeep Sangwan and off-spinner Shivank Vashisth had been the chief agent of Hyderabad’s rot between overs 11 and 18, taking two wickets every. Sangwan had yet another in his kitty – the vital certainly one of Hanuma Vihari.

Anuj Rawat registered his third 40-plus rating in three innings, top-scoring for Delhi at the same time as the remainder of the highest order dealt in brief cameos. Milind took two wickets however gave away 49 runs in his 4 overs; he later made amends together with his batting.

SMAT 2021: Bishnoi hat-trick provides Rajasthan win over Andhra

The end result meant Hyderabad stood on the prime of the factors desk with 4 wins out of 4. Delhi and Saurashtra, which beat Chandigarh, now have three wins every beneath their belt.

Arpit Vasavada (72, 47b, 8×4, 3×6), Sheldon Jackson (70, 40b, 4×4, 5×6) and Chetan Sakariya (3 for 25) had been the chief architects of Saurashtra’s 42-run win in Rohtak. The 104-run partnership between Vasavada and Jackson helped take Saurashtra to 209 for 4 in 20 overs. Medium pacer Jaskarandeep Singh and left-arm spinner Bhagmender Lather had been the most costly Chandigarh bowlers, freely giving 87 runs of their seven overs mixed.

Manan Vohra, the century maker on Saturday, fell within the first over of the chase, for 9 runs. Arjit Singh (44, 32b, 3×4, 3×6) and Gaurav Puri (35, 16b, 4×4, 2×6), amongst others, supplied some resistance with the bat, but it surely wasn’t sufficient.

Like Chandigarh, Uttarakhand fell to its fourth defeat in 4 matches, shedding to Uttar Pradesh by seven wickets. Karan Sharma scored a half-century as UP chased down its goal of 125 for the lack of three wickets and with 15 balls to spare.

Transient scores:

1. At Rohtak: Saurashtra 209/4 in 20 overs (Arpit Vasavada 72, Sheldon Jackson 70) beat Chandigarh 167/6 in 20 overs (Arjit Singh 44, Chetan Sakariya 3 for 25) by 42 runs

2. In Sultanpur: Delhi 170/5 in 20 overs (Anuj Rawat 41) misplaced to Hyderabad 171/7 in 20 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 54, Pradeep Sangwan 3 for 27) by three wickets

3. In Sultanpur: Uttarakhand 124/7 in 20 overs misplaced to Uttar Pradesh 125/3 in 17.3 overs (Karan Sharma 52, Rinku Singh 44 n.o.) by seven wickets


Supply hyperlink

Share your love